I heart fanfic

I was excited to read that Boston Public Library had a librarian doing collection development for zines.  Now I read sci-fi writer/blogger Cory Docotow’s piece on fanfic at Locus.  My love for these private-press creatures has no bounds.  The fact that people write and publish for passion not money, that it’s kind of a secret publication-of-the-month club a jillion miles from Borders and BarnesandNoble’s, that you can buy the further adventures of your favorite tv and movie characters or just read for free online, and it has it’s own special lingo for the fanfic consumer – all of it makes me feel like I’m connecting with people just like me.  I’ve read zines for years in embarrassed solitude.  Now it’s going to become legit.  Another aspect of my terminal nerdiness is going to make me seem hip, finally!

Leave a Reply

