Think of the convenience!

I saw Sony’s new flexible display on BoingBoing and it’s got my geek genes excited.  I can’t wait to carry around my tv crushed up in my purse next to the tissues and Certs.  Of course I’ll have to keep my battery and flexible cable in there, too.   Will this help on shelf space in the library?  I can store movies and ebooks in thin little flip-through rows.  I suspect the security cases will be amazing, too 🙂

4 Responses to “Think of the convenience!”

  1. Mary Says:

    But, given the size, will it be satisfying? It’s smaller than a youtube video.

    Call me spoiled, but while it might be a great alternative for news, some books, even e-learning, e-conferencing.. I can’t see it as something to replace entertainment viewing. Not trying to be a party pooper.

  2. Ellen Says:

    Interesting point, especially since the trend is towards big screens for entertainment. Still, I can picture myself watching Jeopardy or playing Solitaire on something like this.

  3. Mary Says:

    Oh, me too. One thing I do enjoy is the ability to dload an audiobook, and I have to wonder if perhaps the true future of the medium is as a type of replacement for the cell phone, w/features of a laptop computer, IPod all in one.

    One of my more recent favorites was free via ITunes, and came highly recomended by Neil Gaiman. The Areas of My Expertise, by John Hodgman (formerly on The Daily Show, and he appears in the MAC commercials as the lowly PC).

    It has an almost Poor Richard’s Almanac air to it.. still haven’t finished listening to it, as it is more than 6 hours in duration. The man is very amusing though.

  4. Ellen Says:

    John Hodgman is adorable 🙂


Leave a Reply

